River's Lair

Sparkling purple dragons shooting lightning at one another.

Blog

Blog Start: The Great Twitter Escape

07/01/2023

Finally, some more motivation for me to try and fancy up my site some more, turn it into that central hub I want it to be. For those unaware (though if you’re here you likely have at least passing knowledge of the situation), Twitter’s illustrious owner has made the decision to limit the amount of tweets any given user can view per day. Supposedly it’s only a temporary measure, but no one has any idea as to how long or short it will be in effect. This limit is an incredibly small number, too, being only 600 total for non-blue subscribers. It’s only been a matter of hours at the time of writing and I know some of my mutuals have already hit that! I haven’t done so yet, but I’ve been mostly avoiding Twitter while trying to get my other social sites in order. Check them out over on the side if you want to keep up with me elsewhere, by the way.

I have… mixed feelings about the direction Twitter has been heading. On one hand, it’s probably a good idea for me to make more of a presence for myself in a place that I have more control over – this site – so I am glad for circumstances pushing me to do so. I did meet most of my current friends through it, though, and it’s been a good place to just have quick interactions with people I don’t talk to directly as often. But in the end, it probably is for the best that I stop putting so much of my focus on Twitter anyways. It’s not the healthiest social media site to spend my time on, that’s for sure. As long as I can keep contact with friends one way or another, I’ll be happy.

On a lighter note, I’ve been a bit busy lately preparing for my next college term. It snuck up on me a bit – I hadn’t quite realized how quickly time was passing since I finished my first quarter at the start of June. But I’ve still had time to prepare, I got the required textbook and a webcam (this quarter I’m taking all remote classes) in plenty of time, and as of now I’m just waiting to see if there are any online resources I’ll need to set up ahead of time. Where I was nervous before the start of last quarter, I’m actually a bit excited this time around; I’ve finished my gen ed requirements which means I’m moving onto the networking part of my degree. This is what I initially enrolled in classes for, so I’m definitely looking forward to what’s coming up. Still got a little over a week until things start up, though, so I’ve got a bit more time before I’ve got to focus on that.

Not much else to say here at the moment, in the meantime I’d like to know what anyone reading wants to see here. Personal thoughts and life updates are a given, but what else? One thought I had is to spend some time talking about some of the media that I’ve consumed between updates. But other than that I don’t have many ideas, so if there’s anything else you’d like to read about from me, any sort of insight folks would like me to provide, feel free to let me know! Send me a message on whichever platform and I’ll take your thoughts into consideration. Or better yet, send me an email if you’d like, that’s also over there on the right. I think I’d enjoy getting emails from real people now and then, just to communicate in that fashion, instead of the constant barrage of automated junk.

But in any case, that’s it for now! I’m not sure yet how frequently or consistently I’ll put new entries here, but I will try my best to do one around the start of each month if nothing else. And hopefully I’ll have something interesting to say with each one.

Signing off,
-River ^.=.^